Ministry in the Mundane: Week 2

Standard

My weekly post is looking more like it’s going to be a bi-weekly post! We’ve been super busy lately and I just haven’t had time to sit and put my thoughts into words! In the last couple of weeks, we bought a house and sold our current one, had court for one of our little ones, had a sick baby, our anniversary (8 years!!) getaway is coming up this weekend, plus another court hearing coming up this week! BUSY BUSY BUSY! But, we love it! Wouldn’t trade the busyness for anything and loving the life God has blessed us with!

Well, a couple of weeks ago I posted the first ministry in the mundane post and hope it’s been a blessing to you. Even if it’s not something you feel you can do, maybe it will get some “wheels turning” and get you thinking of ways you can minister right where you are in your daily life.

“Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers.” Ephesians 4:29

Here’s the second idea:

Encouraging E-Mails
Cost: $0

laptop-with-emails_23-2147500004A few years ago, my mom started sending out weekly, encouraging emails to people on her email list. It was just a simple Bible verse, inspiring quote, lyrics to a Gospel song, or whatever else was on her mind. Many people, including myself, appreciated the reminder. When my mom was diagnosed with cancer and was out of work for awhile, I offered to continue the emails because I knew how important they were. That’s been a couple of years ago now, my mom is doing wonderful and back to work, but I’ve continued to keep up with the emails. There may only be 80-100 people that this reaches to, but I find encouragement for myself when looking for a Bible verse or quote to put into these emails.

What I love about this idea is that anyone can do it. Young, old, working, unemployed, wherever you are in your life, this is a wonderful way to reach out to some friends and family to encourage their week.

So, I encourage you to ask for email addresses from your friends and family to see if they would be interested in receiving a weekly, inspiring email. Who wouldn’t, right?! The content can be whatever God lays on your heart. It may not seem like a big deal, but trust me, it makes a difference. Email is a wonderful way to minister in the mundane!

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Emily B.

Jesus lovin' foster mamma to 2 precious girls with my knight in shining armor by my side every step of the way. I love writing, cooking, playing the piano, spending time with family and being a wife and mother. I wouldn't change one thing about our story! God is good!

Leave a Reply

